Shimberg Lectures

Upcoming events

We are pleased to announce that the 2013 Ben Shimberg* Public Service Award will be presented to Kathy Apple, CEO, National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN). Kathy will receive the award and deliver the Ben Shimberg Memorial Lecture during our 2013 annual meeting in Seattle on Tuesday, October 29, 2013.

Past recipients of the award have been:


Paul Grace, President and CEO, National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy


Catherine Dower, Associate Director – Research, UCSF Center for the Health Professions


Art Levin, Director, Center for Medical Consumers


Sidney Wolfe, Director, Public Citizen’s Health Research Group.


Polly Johnson, past Executive Director of the North Carolina Board of Nursing.


Barbara Safriet, public member on the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy.


John Rother, Policy and Strategy Director for AARP.


Julie D’Angelo Fellmeth, Administrative Director, Center for Public Interest Law, University of San Diego School of Law, and former Enforcement Monitor for the Medical Board of California.


Mark Yessian, Former Regional Inspector General for Evaluation and Inspections, Boston Region, Office of the Inspector General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

All of the above lectures can be accessed here: Ben Shimberg Memorial Lectures

*Dr. Benjamin Shimberg, widely considered the “father” of accountability in professional and occupational licensing, served as the first chair of CAC’s Board of Directors until his death in September 2003. The Board immediately voted to name Ben the Chairman Emeritus of CAC. They also voted to create an annual Ben Shimberg Public Service Award, and to ask the recipients of that award to deliver a lecture.